Orlando Car Accident Attorneys
Board Certified Attorney in Orlando Handles Auto Accident Cases Across Central Florida
A certain number of motor vehicle accidents are inevitable given the amount of time we spend on the road. Each year thousands of drivers are injured in auto accidents but do not receive fair compensation. In fact, it is standard practice for insurance companies to offer low initial settlements to victims.
At First Choice Law our car auto accident attorneys can assist in determining the value of your case and help you get the compensation you deserve. Without experienced legal assistance, many victims are left responsible for most of the expenses resulting from an auto accident, even if they were not at fault.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, nearly 3 million people were injured in motor vehicle accidents in 2017. Car accident injuries can vary in type and severity, but many of the most common are quite serious. For example, auto accidents are the leading cause of brain and spinal cord injury. Often, however, the full extent of a victim's injuries is not apparent until days, even weeks, after an accident, so it is important for victims to monitor themselves carefully for some time after the incident.
A variety of factors such as cell phone use, automotive defects, substance abuse, and reckless driving can result in a serious car accident. If you have been involved in an auto accident, contact our personal injury attorneys and schedule a case consultation. We will help you get compensation for your physical pain and suffering, medical bills, lost wages, and emotional trauma.
What to do if Involved in a Car Crash
If you're a driver involved in a car accident in Florida, and the crash resulted in injury or death, and/or vehicle damage or damage to any other property in an apparent amount of at least $500, you must report the accident to the local police department, if the accident occurred within a municipality. If the accident did not occur within a municipality, you must report the accident to the office of the county sheriff or to the nearest office or station of the Florida Highway Patrol. These rules can be found at Florida Statutes section 316.065.
Five things to do if involved in car crash:
- If damage over $500 or if feeling instant pain (sometimes pain takes time to manifest because of adrenaline and shock), Call 911
- Get exchange of information, name address, license plate of all involved (including passengers and witnesses). (cellphones are great to take pictures of all of these) Get photos of the cars and damage.
- Report the crash to the Police or FHP and remain safely on the scene.
- Seek medical care and treatment within 14 days of crash.
- Call Jason Recksiedler or Caroline Fischer Espi at First Choice Law 321-999-1111
- for a FREE CONSULTATION!
After any kind of traffic accident in Florida, if you've been injured and/or incurred significant damage to your vehicle, you probably want to understand your options for getting compensated for your loss. You want to know how Florida law impacts your case.
Many people believe they have “FULL COVERAGE” Here is a secret First Choice Law will tell you that your insurance agent likely did not; there is no such thing as “Full Coverage” In fact, most drivers who believe they have full coverage, actually have the bare minimum known as basic personal injury protection (PIP) Knowing what coverage you have on your car is important.
If you can imagine three boxes in front of you, you might more easily understand what coverages exist in a car crash:
- Box number one: PIP, or personal injury protection only covers medical expenses paid at 80% and/or lost wages paid at 60%, payable up to $10,000. This is the bare minimum coverage required to drive a car on the streets of Florida.
- Box number two, First Choice Law will call Bodily Injury Insurance or BI. This coverage provides insurance for you if you caused the crash. It is also the coverage that First Choice Law looks for from the other car or “at fault” party or car driver, in order to get you compensated for things like Pain, Suffering, Loss of Enjoyment of Life (non-economic losses), as well as any economic losses not paid by Box number one or the PIP.
- Box number three is an extra insurance that you would have had to purchase called Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist protection or UM/UIM. We will investigate if you have this insurance. This is important in the event the at fault driver does not have BI insurance or if your injuries, loss or damages exceed the value of available BI insurance. In many ways, UM/UIM is the most important insurance you can purchase because Florida does not require BI insurance, which means many cars on the road do not have any insurance to pay for your injuries, even though they cause the crash. It is First Choice Law’s advice that everyone protect themselves by purchasing UM/UIMcoverage.
Car Accidents and Statute of Limitations
A "statute of limitations" is a law that sets a time limit on your right to bring a lawsuit.
In most situations, you have four years, starting from the date of the crash, to get your car accident case started in the Florida court system. However, if a family member died as a result of a car crash, you have only two years, starting from the date of the person’s death, to file a wrongful death lawsuit in Florida. For the details, learn more about the car accident statute of limitations reading Florida Statutes Sections 95.11(3)(a) and (4)(d).
Don’t wait, call First Choice Law now!
Get Help From Our Expert Orlando Car Accident Lawyers
Our car accident attorneys know how emotionally and financially difficult coping with a collision can be. When a serious injury or death occurs as a result of a car, truck, or motorcycle accident, the lives of the victims and their families can be turned upside down. Our trial lawyers will represent you to obtain fair compensation and lessen the burden on auto accident victims. Call us today at 321-999-1111 for a free consultation, or use the online form located at the top of this page and we will contact you shortly.
- I was involved in a car crash. What should I do?
- What is auto negligence?
- What is the Florida “No Fault” Law?
- What is Personal Injury Protection (PIP)?
- What is Bodily Injury coverage (BI)?
- What is Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage (UM/UIM)?
- What is a phantom vehicle?
- What is Medical Payment Coverage or Med Pay?
- What is Comp and Collision?
- Who pays for the rental car that I need after a car crash?
- The at-fault driver had no insurance. What can I do now?
- Who is going to pay for your medical bills?
- How do I pursue a claim for damages to my vehicle?
- What is the mandatory insurance in the State of Florida?
- What if I am hit by someone who is driving a rental car?
- What if I am injured by an out-of-state driver in the State of Florida?
- What if I am involved in a car crash outside of Florida?
- What if a member of my family dies as a result of an auto accident?
- What if I do not own a car and I am involved in a crash?
- Does the jury gets to know that there is insurance in an automobile case?
- Do I have to have a permanent injury to recover pain and suffering damages in a car crash case?